Real Life

So it is the year 2012 and technology has soared leaps and bounds. We can virtually do anything at home that once required the act of doing in “Real Life”. I am not bashing technology, as I am the first to want to try out any of Apple’s latest products or search for new and exciting virtual experiences, from the convenience of my home.

Socially I have met so many people online, from all over the United States, all the way up the North East Coast to Massachusetts and all the way west to California.
Since I normally don’t travel past the border of South Carolina, that is huge for me.

I am not downing the powers of the Internet or technology, but I am concerned about there being a balance in my life with the “Real World”. I read that there are resort vacation spots that people are paying extra for since they have no satellite or Wi-Fi and are completely remote from connections. It is sad when it consumes us so much that we have to run from it.

I think the key for me, is to let technology supplement my life and not overtake it. I am sure that striking a balance is different for all of us, but if texting is causing you to run over someone with your car, that is not acceptable behavior. It just doesn’t seem relevant to skip your daily workout time because you need to level up your online character. If there are things, projects, goals, experiences that should be in your life that are now replaced by virtual means, then I think it’s time to find your balance.

I challenge you to strike your own balance between virtual life and real life. What are the ways that you can control it? What balance will allow you to soar through this year, and make your own personal leaps and bounds?
“Find it, do it, good!” ~Catlas

I like to connect to people in the virtual world, exchanging thoughts and ideas, when in the physical world we might never have the opportunity to cross paths.
Demi Moore

I think you could make a completely Virtual Centre, though I have a general feeling, and maybe because I am getting very old, that you still need face to face.
Richard Rogers

(image source unknown)

About catlas

Just a girl who loves technology and her Apple products and who uses those cute little ā€œiā€ pad, pod, books to read, search, socialize, game, and type out her random thoughts.

Posted on January 24, 2012, in Blogroll and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have been thinking so much about you and missing you saying how “sweet” I am! I am extra sweet for Lent, you understand! Anyway, somehow wordpress “unfollowed” your blog to me. I just went directly to your URL just now and found this post I had missed. I LOVE it. The cartoons are all wonderful, as is your very justifiable concerns with us getting so “virtual” in our lives, separating ourselves from direct contact with others. I have developed a plan for balancing this in my own life, especially during Lent. I know that by the time those 6 weeks are up, I will be firmly entrenched in a healthier balance between the “real” (what is real?) world and the cyberworld. I thank God for the cyberworld that connects me with all of you, nevertheless! How are the guitar lessons going?

  2. [ā€¦] Something Yancey said also hit home quite starkley. Relating to my previous post, prayer is a means of connection to our Heavenly Father. He said Click http://d2.ae/hool090745

Leave a comment