WARNING

Do you read warning labels?  I would have to answer with, sometimes I
do and sometimes, I toss them in the trash can, without regard.  I
mean seriously, some things are common sense.
I am well aware that I should not blow dry my hair while I am
sleeping.  I also realize that I should not drink or taste dish
washing detergent.

What I would really find useful would be, warning labels on people.
If I could use my eyes to scan a bar code on someones forehead, that
said for example, ‘This man is very stingy. If you marry him he will
charge you for the toilet paper you use weekly.’  Or, ‘Warning:
becoming friends with this person will give you a lifetime of
happiness.’, life would be a lot less complicated.

Yes, I know, this is impossible, and maybe I would disregard the
warning like I do on my mattress cover label, ‘Do not remove or you
will serve time in prison.’

I believe in fate, and that there are no surprises with God.  He
brings some people into our lives to make us grow, and some to help us
make it through another day.

Life can be harsh and cruel sometimes, or it can be the adventure of a
lifetime.  Trust God, that he has a perfect reason for everything.

“A man’s conscience, like a warning line on the highway, tells him
what he shouldn’t do – but it does not keep him from doing it.”
Frank Howard Clark

“History is a vast early warning system.”
Norman Cousins

“Maybe God wants us to meet a few wrong people before meeting the
right one so that when we finally meet the right person, we will know
how to be grateful for the gift.”
Unknown

(Image source: http://www.damncoolpictures.com/2010/11/stupid-warning-labels.html)

About catlas

Just a girl who loves technology and her Apple products and who uses those cute little “i” pad, pod, books to read, search, socialize, game, and type out her random thoughts.

Posted on December 27, 2011, in Blogroll and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I agree with you! Things, opportunities, will come to you if you don’t occupy yourself with your own presumptions, if you don’t force an image or a certain path that doesn’t fit onto your life, and if you never live in fear about what the next moment will bring.

  2. LOL! I love it! It would be nice if people came with warning labels. However as you said, many would avoid the warning label. Similar to how some medications say, ‘May cause death’ or how some of the commercials for medication are made up primarily of warnings. I think we have truly arrived when we heed the warnings and red flags and learn how to move forward without regret. However, that is easier said than done, right?

  3. YOU WERE NOT TALKING ABOUT ME—-HA!!!
    YOU KNOW I READ THE LABELS ON “EVERYTHING” !!!!
    I WILL NOT REMOVE THE MATTRESS LABEL EITHER —HA!!!!

  4. love the forehead barcode idea…
    I thought this was another wonderful post, taking something so obvious and making a zen wisdom of it, you are truely a witty word wizard (~_~)
    I was told this holiday season that men do not read instructions, it is in our nature to think we know everything so why read how tos… then after getting frustrated we return to the instructions and learn something, I guess that makes men hard headed and women soft headed or easier to get along with (grin) but as for…

    “He
    brings some people into our lives to make us grow, and some to help us
    make it through another day.”

    I totally agree (~_~)

  5. Sorry I lost my “follow” for your blog for a few days. Anyway, I totally enjoyed this post, finding it one of my favorites of yours for 2011! I sort of think we would ignore and misinterpret almost all warning labels on people! And it is very true that without the dark, we would not perceive the light! Ying and yang, you know. Wishing you a most joyously light filled 2012!

Leave a comment