What is your gift?

Some people have several gifts, but everyone has at least one. Do you know what I am referring to by, ‘what is your gift?’

What quality just comes natural to you, that you excel at? It could be any number of things.

Here are just a few examples from people that I actually know. You may fall into one of these categories, or you may have some other gift that I do not list.
There are far too many for me to even cover in one post, but nevertheless, this should give you some idea of the concept I’m sharing with you.

First off, one of the more well known or familiar terms would be to classify your gift as being a “Leader”.
The first person that comes to my mind in this group would be my friend and fellow blogger C.L Sostarich, which you may know from the blog, It’s Real To Me.
I met K (as we refer to her in game) in World of Warcraft. She is the leader of the guild I belong to, and she is a fine leader at that.
She naturally embodies that quality and leads us well. She knows how to logically think situations through and handle them diplomatically. She is aware of the needs
of her flock and cares for them. Do you see yourself as being this type of person? Maybe or maybe not. This gift is not mine.

Next example would be someone that I have not know for very long but have met here in the WordPress community, Art, the author of the blog, Zendictive.
I would say Art is an “Encourager”. His posts are uplifting and always have a positive moral value associated with them. It is not difficult to see the encouragement that flows through him.
Also, he is probably unaware of how much he has personally encouraged me through his comments on my posts. You know the feeling when you write a poem or post
and you are just not sure if it is going to come across how you meant it? Or even if others will gain anything from it? Well, Art to say the least is a wonderful encouragement!
That is an important role, and we all need encouragement!

Now lets go to another aspect, more on the spiritual side this time. There are some that excel at sharing God’s word and bringing hope to us for the future, or keeping us on the right track.
LeRoy Dean, author of the blog, Wordsmith’s Desk, would be a prime example of that. Also in this area would be prayer warriors, someone that you can say, “Will you pray for me about this?” and you know beyond a shadow of a doubt that they will. My Mom is a wonderful example in that area.

Lastly, I will say just a few lines about what I enjoy doing and think is part of my gift, and that is, I am a people person. I love to be around good people, they energize me. I am not good at conflict situations, but I do know how to form a party. I love to bring people together for a common goal and work together through it. I love to help others have fun and laugh. It usually ends up blessing me more in the process than them.

There are so many, many possible gifts that you many have, the gifts of imagination, laughter, art, poetry, and this list goes on and on. But my thought today is, realize what YOUR gift is, and give it to the world! A gift is meant to be given, don’t hide your light!

A great deal of talent is lost to the world for the want of a little courage.
Sydney Smith

Genius is the gold in the mine; talent is the miner who works and brings it out.
Lady Blessington

We are each gifted in a unique and important way. It is our privilege and our adventure to discover our own special light.
Mary Dunbar

Hide not your talents, they for use were made. What’s a sundial in the shade?
Benjamin Franklin

Work while you have light. You are responsible for the talent that has been entrusted to you.
Henri Frederick Amiel

About catlas

Just a girl who loves technology and her Apple products and who uses those cute little “i” pad, pod, books to read, search, socialize, game, and type out her random thoughts.

Posted on December 5, 2011, in Blogroll and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I truly believe that God gifts people in order to help other people and glorify Him. Thanks for sharing. Connie
    http://ablog4souls.wordpress.com/

  2. Fine post about gifts. Thanks for the gracious plug.

  3. Cat, I totally agree with you about C.L., Art, and Leroy. They serve those functions for me as well, in this wonderful writers’ community I just discovered about 2 months ago. I aspire to be an encourager, as well. My greatest aspiration right now as a writer is to TOUCH people in some part of their souls in order to build networks for peace. I aspire to be a CONNECTOR! Thank you for your very helpful and motivating post today.(P.S.: I will say that C.L. slightly intimidates me with her self-assurance. That is a personal issue I am praying and writing and working at presently)

    • That is so not true! (Even though you are True) 🙂 You are a very talented writer and you also know how to be very comforting when someone else needs to talk. 😀

    • You have too many gifts to list, one of them being modesty ;p You are an excellent writer! Another great gift you have is the ability to look at things objectively. Whenever I have presented a problem to you, you have always been able to show me a side of it that I wouldn’t have thought of on my own. I could go on and on but I don’t want to hijack Cat’s blog!

      • This is awesome!! I love to see responses like this from posts, it means to me that it meant something to you and you are thinking! And as far as Blacke goes, this is fabulous that we (others that know her) can share what she means, or has done, or shown to us, to help her discover her own talents and gifts. How beautiful to be a mirror for another’s soul! 😀

  4. GOOD BLOG—-THANKS FOR YOUR KIND REMARKS ABOUT ME–

    COULD I SAY—-CL BLACKE HAS GIFTS SHE IS NOT AWARE OF—
    ASK OTHERS AND SEE WHAT THEY HAVE TO SAY—–(‘-‘)

Leave a Reply

