Hungry Wolf

Stealing moments and thoughts,
Pushing self defeating phrases into my head.
Whispering into my ears,
Lies of hypocrisy.

My worst enemy,
With me, every step,
Always at my side.
Tugging my heart,
“You are worthless”.

Every cruel, evil and unimaginable word,
Webster’s is at his disposal,
Spewing forth
Constantly,
Word after thought after word.

Stop! I blurt with all the force I can muster.
Leave, hungry wolf!
I will not listen or believe these lies!
God loves me, I love me, and we are strong enough to cast you out.

This is a dark write, but I hope it is encouraging. We do not have to settle with our demons, we can defeat them!

If you do not conquer self, you will be conquered by self.
Napoleon Hill

Know thy self, know thy enemy. A thousand battles, a thousand victories.
Sun Tzu

Much of your pain is the bitter potion by which the physician within you heals your sick self.
Khalil Gibran

There is only one corner of the universe you can be certain of improving, and that’s your own self.
Aldous Huxley

About catlas

Just a girl who loves technology and her Apple products and who uses those cute little ā€œiā€ pad, pod, books to read, search, socialize, game, and type out her random thoughts.

Posted on December 2, 2011, in Blogroll and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Great use of the metaphor! Very universal!

  2. a wolf is no match for a cougar (grin) however the wolves in the mind will nip your strength from you and wear you down. Hoping all is well with you and yours. (~_~)

    Art~

  3. Any write that gives hope is bright. You have a gift.

  4. Catlas, I did not find this a “dark write” at all! Quite the contrary, it shed a lot of light into our inner battles as writer’s. You have continued to facilitate my own healing from 20+ years of self-effacement with this post today. THANK YOU, amazing cat!

  5. MY AMAZING CAT—–YOU KEEP THAT BAD WOLF FROM YOUR DOOR~~~~~!!

  6. Don’t give in to the wolf.Fear only makes it bigger than it is.If you tell your self you can,so it will be.

  7. the wolf imagery is fabulous.

    Hello, you win perfect poet award for week 56, hope that you have enjoyed it.
    It has been a delightful experience with you supporting Thursday Poets Rally, we have enjoyed your presence and talent very much, thumbs up!
    fabulous poetry along the way, keep those gems coming.
    Always, you are more than welcome to join our biweekly rally.
    Happy Holidays!
    smiles.
    xoxox

Leave a Reply

