The Mailbox

As part of an inspired writing exercise I wrote what this picture said to me.
Then I converted my thoughts to a poem. The last time I wrote a poem was in 1985 for an english class.
This is the first time I have written one just for me.

Rusted, worn edges
Splintered dry wood
Gun shot sides
Long have I stood

Faithfully serving
to shelter and protect
Your mail I carry
My heart you neglect

I will not deny
I will not forsake
I am your mailbox
Though I ache

Summer has passed
Winter awaits
Your heart goes on
While mine Breaks

“Loyalty and devotion lead to bravery. Bravery leads to the spirit of self-sacrifice. The spirit of self-sacrifice creates trust in the power of love.”

Morihei Ueshiba

(Mailbox picture is from Etsy.com)

Poet’s Rally week 55

About catlas

Just a girl who loves technology and her Apple products and who uses those cute little “i” pad, pod, books to read, search, socialize, game, and type out her random thoughts.

Posted on October 29, 2011, in Blogroll and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. YOU DID A GOOD JOB—-
    IT WAS VERY TOUCHING—–THANKS—-FROM NOW ON I WILL LOOK AT AN OLD MAIL BOX WITH MORE RESPECT====!!!

  2. wordsfallfrommyeyes

    This is great. I’m not so much into poetry myself either but this was really clear. A good post 🙂

  3. “I am your mailbox”

    now that was thinking outside the box…(!_!)great write
    Art~

  4. You are so cute, Zen!

  5. hey catlas…first of all..warm welcome at dVerse… second…smiling at zen’s comment…and third…like your poem…can hard to be an open mailbox for others at times…i have a colleague at work and somehow lots of people entrust her with their deepest and darkest secrets…(me too..) she’s just awesome but sometimes i think she suffers as well…

  6. An open mailbox sounds like fun, maybe the mailbox should grow legs and run or brick itself up, could cause a hiccup..haha…great verse.

  7. I am trying really hard not to say –great delivery! :_) You brought the mailbox and its dilemmas to life well.

  8. nice…the gun shot side…nice description…this has a great flow to it…and i feel for that which has served to bring messages to others…while its heart breaks…felt close…nicely done…

  9. The mailbox as metaphor; loved the piece and its originality. Well done and much appreciated. Glad you linked with the crew here at dVersepoets. The pub is always open and you are always welcome. Thank you!

  10. You standing in the metaphor fed strength to the image through your words. Lovely write ~ Rose

  11. Beautiful write. So simple and so moving. Thanks for sharing

  12. Well, its lovely.. and with soft words, you have brought out the loneliness of the mail box, waiting for the winter to break upon… Vivid. Specially you are writing it for the first time in decades. I liked it. thanks for sharing..

    Shashi
    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/11/whispers-fire-faayar-faayaar-dedicated.html
    At Twitter @VerseEveryDay

  13. incredible.

    love the gentle touch of your words.

  14. love this, your words provide a concrete imagery, smiles.

    Happy Rally.

  15. Ode to a mailbox…I like it!

  16. You posted 🙂 a very beautiful poem here!

  17. Hello.
    How creative…you gave a voice to the mailbox.
    Very nicely done!

    Thanks for sharing & visiting. Much appreciated.

    A Weeping Rose

  18. I really enjoyed the whole package, if you will 🙂

  19. Lovely voice to the mailbox…very creative!

  20. I have had a winter like myself…

  21. My heart aches too. I could definitely put my shoes in those.

Leave a Reply

